top of page
Untitled design (1).png

WELCOME TO MY BLOG!

Just what everyone wanted...

Another millennial with internet access and an opinion.

Search
  • Writer's picturealex

Why Hectic Holidays are the Best Holidays

Hello Friends!


Canadian Thanksgiving was just this past weekend and I somehow managed to make sure my boyfriend and I got to do all of the family events. This included driving for two hours up to Erin, Ontario to have dinner with his grandparents and driving home in the pitch black with fog so thick we could only see 10 feet in front of us and my 'mom arm' ready to throw itself over his chest if anything were to have happened.. I did save him from a couple squirrels.


This also included us having to wake up super early the next day to ensure we got to go apple picking. We ended up going to Myer's Apple Farm in Ancaster.


Apple picking is a family tradition for Jacob and his family, they go every year for his mother's birthday because every year she just wants to spend time with her family. I got the blessing, from his mother, to come to this sacred family tradition, after dating her son for over 2 and a half years.


As you can see, I'm thoroughly enjoying my free breakfast of red delicious apples. 10/10 would definitely recommend eating an apple right off the tree instead of buying them at the grocery store.



I had a lot more fun than I would have originally thought could be had at an apple farm, and I even managed to cross something off of my fall bucket list! Pumpkin Patch? Check!

For the final two pictures, I got to do something I've been wanting to do for a long, long time. That being updating my LinkedIn and Facebook profile pictures.. It's the little things, in my opinion.

 

Now, if there is something you need to know about my family, it's that we never have a boring time. My mother, without fail, organizes some type of game for every family gathering. This year for Thanksgiving we hosted our first annual Fries Turkey Hunt (yes, Fries is the family name, and no, we are not French).

Now before you get your pitch forks, these are paintball guns (except for my gramma, I think she's holding a stapler gun... I don't have an answer for that either) and no, we did not shoot at real turkeys.


My mother lives with my Gramma and Grampa to help them handle their property, that being over 18 acres of land and over 2,000 sq ft. of house. So, with a little forested area, not that far from the house, and my uncle Dave being just next door with his family, an obstacle course would take each person around in a tractor on a little trail, and they would have to shoot pictures of turkeys with a paintball gun. Someone was always driving a golf cart behind the tractor to ensure if any targets were to fall, that they would be picked up.


Never thought you'd see a 74-year-old woman holding a paintball gun before, did you?


The rest of the time this weekend was spent either helping make Thanksgiving dinners, sitting around the table and eating Thanksgiving dinner, or in the hot tub, located conveniently in my uncle's backyard.


If you take anything away from this post, let it be known that fully involving yourself in all that your family does during the holidays, no matter how big or small, will give you that warm and fuzzy feeling that only Christmas morning (and now Thanksgiving morning) can give you!


What are your favourite family traditions? Who do you spend the holidays with? Let me know, I'd love to adopt more things into my holiday festivities!


Thanks for reading,

Alex

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TALK TO ME

Thanks for your interest in my blog!

Feel free to get in touch with me about anything that's on your mind and I will get back to you soon!

thumbnail_IMG_0133 (1).jpg

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page